Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts from February, 2016

Blog Tour: The Ramblers by Aidan Donnelley Rowley

About The Ramblers

• Hardcover: 400 pages
• Publisher: William Morrow (February 9, 2016)

For fans of J. Courtney Sullivan, Meg Wolitzer, Claire Messud, and Emma Straub, a gorgeous and absorbing novel of a trio of confused souls struggling to find themselves and the way forward in their lives, set against the spectacular backdrop of contemporary New York City.

Set in the most magical parts of Manhattan—the Upper West Side, Central Park, Greenwich Village—The Ramblers explores the lives of three lost souls, bound together by friendship and family. During the course of one fateful Thanksgiving week, a time when emotions run high and being with family can be a mixed blessing, Rowley’s sharply defined characters explore the moments when decisions are deliberately made, choices accepted, and pasts reconciled.

Clio Marsh, whose bird-watching walks through Central Park are mentioned in New York Magazine, is taking her first tentative steps towards a relationship while also looking back to the s…

Blog Tour + Giveaway: The Cupcake Witch

Chancellor Fairytales #2. Love Potion Books (2015) YA Bound Book Tours
Julie
Buttercream. Vanilla. Fondant. Dark chocolate. Brown sugar. Molasses. Baking has always been my true love, but it wasn’t until my mother’s death, and the unexpected inheritance of Serendipity Gardens, that my bliss called me. Bittersweet. But Serendipity Gardens has more to offer than just a potential shopfront. An unusual recipe box left to me by a distant relative might be the key to unlocking my dreams.
Too bad the most powerful family in Chancellor has plans that could turn those dreams to ruins—literally.
Too bad the son of that powerful family is just the kind of guy I’ve been looking for.Horatio
I suppose being heir to the Hunter family’s Blushing Grape Winery should make me happy, but nothing could be further from the truth. With my mother gone, my father has taken me under his wing, and I despise everything about the way he does business. Sour grapes, indeed. Instead of raising money for charitable causes…

If I Had a Gryphon by Vikki VanSickle Illustrated by Cale Atkinson

Standalone. Tundra Books (February 9th, 2016) NetGalley
Sam just got a hamster for a pet. But the hamster is kind of boring ... he just eats and sleeps and gets his shavings wet. Inspired by her book of mythological creatures, Sam longs for a more exciting pet. But she soon realizes that taking care of these magical beasts might not be as wonderful as she thought. Sasquatches are messy, unicorns are shy, gryphons scare the dogs at the dogpark, and having a fire extinguisher handy at all times makes dragons seem like an awful lot of work. In the end, Sam realizes that her hamster is a pretty sweet and safe pet ... or is he? If I Had a Gryphon is a raucous rhyming read-aloud about fantastical beasts in everyday situations--and the increasingly beleaguered heroine who has to deal with them.


Sam's pet hamster is quite boring compared to all the animals she finds in her mythology books. She thinks of how great a gryphon, mermaid, sasquatch and other unusual creatures would be to have as…

Noni Speaks Up by Heather Hartt-Sussman Illustrations by Geneviève Côté

Tundra Books (February 9th, 2016) Netgalley
Noni always tries to do the right thing. But she doesn't know how to help her classmate Hector, who is constantly bullied for his name, his size and his giant glasses. Noni stands by silently, afraid that the kids will turn on her if she speaks up. Yet "doing nothing" doesn't feel very good. Will Noni be brave enough to take matters into her own hands? 

Standing up for yourself can be a difficult thing to do. Standing up for someone else can be even harder. Noni Speaks Up describes how Noni freezes up when a boy named Hector is being made fun of. She thinks about what it would be like if her friends turn on her if she speaks up. Is it worth helping Hector if she ends up alone?
I've been faced with this same situation time and again. It's something that is really relatable to kids and something that family members and teachers should discuss more often. I really liked that Noni starts thinking about the consequences …

Books on Her Mind Weekly Recap #1

This past week I got nasty sick with a cold to where I missed two classes which makes me cringe thinking about it.

I'm finally feeling better so I'm trying to comment more and be more active on the blog.

As you might already notice I got yet another new look. I'm constantly changing or never satisfied with my look so it was bound to happen sooner or later. I'm pretty happy with the look and I don't have to worry that all the pictures align to the left so everything's good.

While I was sick I got to read a good amount of books especially when my head stopped pounding. I always love team challenges on the YA Buddy Read group I participate in. They always encourage me to read more. Hopefully, I'll get caught up with reviews this month along the way.

Also, I'll be participating in the Valentine's Day Reading Challenge for fun this week.

I'm linking this to The Sunday Post hosted @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer


Books Read

The 5th Wave - The Sea of Tranqui…

A Practically Perfect Princess in Every Way

Now I know the word "perfect" isn't something we frantically must try to achieve for our lives to be fulfilled. Everyone is perfect the way they are and if they think they can achieve better in their lives than that is great. When I am thinking the "perfect" princess I'm thinking of the princess that I can admire for her character and skills. I think I've come up with all that would make my perfect princess.

This discussion is part of the Royal Challenge 2016. It's all about creating your own princess or prince. If you want to join or add your updates you can find info on all that here.



________________________________________

No damsels in distress allowed
I mean it's great to have a charming, sweet, ruffian trying to save the day but not at the expense of a princesses integrity. I'd rather my princess save her own life/kingdom without a prince getting in the way.
Who exemplifies this? ~ Feyre from A Court of Thorns and Roses
This girl does wh…

Crystal Cadets

Crystal Cadets #1. Roar Comics (Jan. 2016) NetGalley
Cadets Go! Join this team of darkness-fighting, world-saving, power-packed teen girls from all over the world on their first adventure! Zoe has always felt out of place; her foster parents are great and all, but she's long felt like something was missing. That is, of course, until she discovers a mysterious gem left to her by her birth mother and her whole universe gets flipped around! When the crystal grants Zoe mysterious powers of light she becomes the Diamond Cadet, and she's not the only one; suddenly she's meeting new friends who shoot flames and glowing green arrows. It's all fun at first, but when The Darkness possesses Zoe's foster parents her only choice is to join this wild group of action-hero girls, traveling the globe to defeat The Darkness and find a cure! 

Zoe is a bit of a misfit. She gets made fun of by the girls at her school. Unbeknownst to her - her life is going to change forever when she rec…

January 2016 Monthly Recap

This felt like the longest month ever! I started out strong reading twelve books the first two weeks of the new year. Then nothing for three weeks until today. I focused so much on my classes. I love the new ideas, strategies, and the professors I have this year. I'm going to be really busy now that I'll be going to an Elementary school and then to my University. I have classes Monday-Saturday so I'm going to be booked. I want to be a little more active on the blog and be friendly with new and old blogs. I also plan on working on being more active exercise wise in the month of February. For the month of January, I fell in love with my classes and Worst Cooks in America.

I want to make sure to see each month how I'm doing with my book and non-bookish resolutions/goals for the year so below describes how I did this past month:
My Book Resolutions 
Read more picture books ------- > I read one picture book

Read more graphic novels and mangas ------- > I read five graphic…