Wednesday, April 12, 2017

Mind Games by Heather W. Petty

Lock & Mori #2. Simon & Schuster (Dec. 2016) NetGalley
Sherlock Holmes and Miss James “Mori” Moriarty may have closed their first case, but the mystery is far from over in the thrilling sequel to Lock & Mori, perfect for fans of Maureen Johnson and Sherlock.

You know their names. Now discover their beginnings. 

Mori’s abusive father is behind bars…and she has never felt less safe. Threatening letters have started appearing on her doorstep, and the police are receiving anonymous tips suggesting that Mori—not her father—is the Regent’s Park killer. To make matters worse, the police are beginning to believe them.

Through it all, Lock—frustrating, brilliant, gorgeous Lock—is by her side. The two of them set out to discover who is framing Mori, but in a city full of suspects, the task is easier said than done. With the clock ticking, Mori will discover just how far she is willing to go to make sure that justice is served, and no one—not even Lock—will be able to stop her.


Sherlock and Moriarty, infamous enemies, are boyfriend and girlfriend in the Lock & Mori series. When we last saw these two, Sherlock betrayed Moriarty. I thought as I picked up this book, "She's going to try to kill him." That's what I surmised from their last meeting. She would never forgive for what he had done. But that wasn't the case. She is still pretty angry with him, he is stuck in his ways according to her, and they have to deal with the repercussions of the night she tried to kill her father and failed.

Mind Games was such a surprise because I didn't think it could get any better from the last book and it did. I had a couple of complaints about the last story that I felt this one improved on. Mostly Sherlock didn't annoy me as much. Sherlock "annoy me?" you gasp with indignation. Yes, well Sherlock is a lovable, awkward, genius but in a relationship he just seems - desperate. I just don't like the way he acts around Mori. Either Mori was too angry with Sherlock and she spent less time with him or the rest of the story captured me so much that I didn't bother with him. Anyway you out it, I just liked the story more.

Mori is now dealing with her father being in jail (trying to get out), the police harassing her, and someone wanting her dead. She's been getting drawings that show her what she's done and is told to confess or trouble will happen. Mori tries all that she can to keep her brothers safe from her monster of a father while also trying to quell the monster in her. The mystery was very intriguing. I was enraptured by all the connections that were being made and the possible suspects. It was a very good twist that I would have never guessed.

Mind Games and this series is mostly about Mori and becoming the villain she was always meant to be. There is a lot of talk about how the police are corrupt, how she is helpless to keep her brothers safe, and how much better it would be to resolve everything the way her mother did - with cunning and persuasion. Mori's angry side is showing as well. She sees that she's not good enough for Sherlock. She wonders when he will see her for who she truly is. Now Sherlock on the other hand, is himself to the very core but there is one thing I can see changing - his belief in the police. He wants Mori to trust them and go to them. I think after all of this he's going to start saying how incompetent the are but he will still have the sense of justice we know of him having today. 

I fear the worst with Mori and this twist ending. Mori isn't really a monster. She's angry and will kill to save her brothers but she's still the kind person who goes to Sherlock's aid when he truly need her. I have a theory that she will become who she really is when her brothers are taken away from her. That will destroy any goodness inside her and she will become not Mori but Moriarty. She will take back her father's name and unleash herself upon the world. 

I'm pretty excited to see it all play out. Mori will surely lose her humanity and get her revenge. Sherlock will see her for who she really is. It's inevitable and I love it.

Thank you to NetGalley and Simon & Schuster for letting me read and review Mind Games in exchange for an honest review!

6 comments:

  1. This sounds interesting. I love spinoffs and retellings of popular stories, so I'm sure I'd like this book. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  2. That sounds so good! A fun twist on the traditional story. I'll definitely be adding this series to my Goodreads to read list!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I skimmed some parts as I haven't read any of these books, but I REALLY do want too. Thanks for sharing!

    Lauren

    ReplyDelete
  4. I read the first and loved it, but was too worried to read the second and see how the story progressed! I don't want it to end like the original Sherlock and Moriarty - love this book duo! Your fab review has convinced me to give it a go, especially since I really did enjoy the first. :) Thanks!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Oh, I think I would enjoy these and Sherlock annoy. never say it's so. LOL

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for stopping by She's Got Books on Her Mind! I appreciate every comment and will always try to comment back. No awards please (: Thanks for reading!