Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts from April, 2017

Books on Her Mind Weekly Recap #8

This week I was so lazy! Lazily reading, watching The Great British Baking Show, and feeling unwell. Thankfully I feel much better compared to the beginning of the week. I need to do some stuff this week and I'll be trying to get ahead with my blogging so I can focus on what happens after graduation.

Happy Easter!



I'm linking this to The Sunday Post hosted @Caffeinated Book Reviewer.


Books Read


Judy Moody Gets Famous! - Judy Moody M.D.: The Doctor is In! - Judy Moody Declares Independence - Judy Moody Goes to College


Stitched - Let's Be Just Friends - Beautiful Broken Girls - A Shimmer of Angels

Mind Games - When Green Becomes Tomatoes - Alice's Adventures in Wonderland - Arthur's Reading Race

Last Week on the Blog
Switching Gears by Chantele SedgwickThirteen Reasons Why: Netflix ReviewMind Games by Heather W. PettyArchie Vol. 1: The New RiverdaleAll Four Stars by Tara DairmanBeauty and the Beast: Movie Review
This Week on the Blog
Beautiful Broken Girls2017 POC BooksI Bel…

Beauty and the Beast: Movie Review

I find that Beauty and the Beast is usually readers favorite Disney film or Belle is their favorite princess. Who wouldn't like Belle? She's a love of books, a free thinker, and turns down a narcissistic man. I couldn't wait to watch the live action movie after watching the original as a child about 30 or so times (I had a lot of time on my hands) and having it as my Quinceanera theme. Here is what I thought about this new version of Beauty and the Beast:



When I heard Emma Watson was going to play Belle I was ecstatic! What a perfect person to play not only because she played Hermione, a known reader, but after her Harry Potter role her movies have shined with her in them. 
The thing I noticed right away while she was singing the opening song (my favorite one!) was that she looked bored. I couldn't believe it. As the movie went on she still looked like she was just plain bored. I know Belle is a reader and is probably not so happy all the time in the little town she l…

All Four Stars by Tara Dairman

All Four Stars #1. Putnam (July 2014) Library
Meet Gladys Gatsby: New York’s toughest restaurant critic.(Just don’t tell anyone that she’s in sixth grade.)

Gladys Gatsby has been cooking gourmet dishes since the age of seven, only her fast-food-loving parents have no idea! Now she’s eleven, and after a crème brûlée accident (just a small fire), Gladys is cut off from the kitchen (and her allowance). She’s devastated but soon finds just the right opportunity to pay her parents back when she’s mistakenly contacted to write a restaurant review for one of the largest newspapers in the world.

But in order to meet her deadline and keep her dream job, Gladys must cook her way into the heart of her sixth-grade archenemy and sneak into New York City—all while keeping her identity a secret! Easy as pie, right?
I've been waiting forever for All Four Stars to cross my path. Just look at the cover? It screams adorable and that there will be a lot of talk about desserts. There were.
Gladys secretl…

Archie Vol. 1: The New Riverdale

Archie (2015-) #1. Archie Comics (March 2016) Library
America’s Favorite Teenager, Archie Andrews, is reborn in the pages of this must-have graphic novel collecting the first six issues of the comic book series that everyone is talking about. Meet Riverdale High teen Archie, his oddball, food-loving best friend Jughead, girl-next-door Betty and well-to-do snob Veronica Lodge as they embark on a modern reimagining of the beloved Archie world. It’s all here: the love triangle, friendship, humor, charm and lots of fun – but with a decidedly modern twist.

Brought to you by some of the masters of the comic book genre, including writer Mark Waid and the all-star lineup of artists: Fiona Staples, Annie Wu and Veronica Fish, the first volume of ARCHIE presents readers with a new take on the beloved Archie Comics concepts while retaining the best elements from the company’s 75 years of history.

The Archie comics have been around for about 75 years. Everyday since I was a child I would see Archie…

Mind Games by Heather W. Petty

Lock & Mori #2. Simon & Schuster (Dec. 2016) NetGalley
Sherlock Holmes and Miss James “Mori” Moriarty may have closed their first case, but the mystery is far from over in the thrilling sequel to Lock & Mori, perfect for fans of Maureen Johnson and Sherlock.

You know their names. Now discover their beginnings. 

Mori’s abusive father is behind bars…and she has never felt less safe. Threatening letters have started appearing on her doorstep, and the police are receiving anonymous tips suggesting that Mori—not her father—is the Regent’s Park killer. To make matters worse, the police are beginning to believe them.

Through it all, Lock—frustrating, brilliant, gorgeous Lock—is by her side. The two of them set out to discover who is framing Mori, but in a city full of suspects, the task is easier said than done. With the clock ticking, Mori will discover just how far she is willing to go to make sure that justice is served, and no one—not even Lock—will be able to stop her.

Sherlock…

Thirteen Reasons Why: Netflix Review

I read Thirteen Reasons Why when I was 15 which was such a long time ago. I knew the TV show was coming on Netflix but I decided not to reread the book. My reasoning? I couldn't handle it. Thirteen Reasons Why is one of those rare books (like The Book Thief) that I can only read once in a blue moon because the emotions don't hit me the same. In this review I'll be saying a lot of "I don't remember this person doing this or acting this way." I do this because I can't tell if it's been added or if it's from the story because it's been so long. Don't worry. I won't ruin anything but I will talk about each character and my reaction to them (So if you didn't know who the reasons why Hannah committed suicide and don't want to know skip that part) So basically - beware spoilers below. That part is more for the people who've read the book.
Warning: This show can be triggering. People who feel depressed, suicidal, or who have been s…

Switching Gears by Chantele Sedgwick

Standalone. Sky Pony Press (Feb. 2017) NetGalley
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she loved in secret for years, seventeen-year-old Emmy Martin turns to her passion for mountain biking to try to fill the empty void in her life. But just when things start looking up, Emmy discovers her mom has been diagnosed with early-onset Alzheimer’s. Confused and angry that her parents didn’t tell her sooner, she throws herself into mountain biking like never before.

When Cole Evans, the rich boy who usually doesn’t care about anything but himself, offers to train her for the biggest mountain biking race of the season, she accepts, determined to beat her nemesis, Whitney, and prove she’s good enough for a sponsor. The more time she spends with Cole, the more she realizes he’s different than she’d expected, and, to her surprise, she’s falling for him. Torn between the deep feelings she still has for Lucas and her growing ones for Cole, she knows she must choose a path: one offers her t…

Books On Her Mind Weekly Recap #7

I have officially finished my internship and on my way to graduate in May. This has been a long time coming that it feels surreal. I've finally been reading more with the help of a group on Goodreads called YA Buddy Readers. Their team challenges are the best I tell you!

I'm linking this to The Sunday Post hosted @Caffeinated Book Reviewer.


Books Read


Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder - The Only Pirate at the Party - Hereafter

Amelia Bedelia - Arthur's Back-To-School Surprise - Henry and Mudge

Switching Gears - Tell Me Three Things


This Week on the Blog
Switching Gears by Chantele SedgwickThirteen Reasons Why: Netflix ReviewMind Games by Heather W. PettyArchie Vol. 1 All Four Stars by Tara DairmanBeauty and the Beast: Movie Review

Challenge Updates
Beat the Backlist: 5/54 books read (3 reviewed) Total Points: 352Foodies Read 2017: 2/4 books read (0 reviewed)2017 Steampunk Reading Challenge: 1/6 books read (0 reviewed)Operation Deepen Faith: Exodus Ch. 17 (last chapter I finished)Need t…